Locations

During the course of the 1990s, a 40 hectare complex emerged on the grounds of the former Neunkirchen Ironworks, boasting marvellous monuments and relicts from the heyday of the iron and steel industry.

when the Göttelborn coal mine was founded in 1887, 13 miners, supervised by an overman and a mine inspector, went to work.

founded by the Walloon Remacle de Hauzeur in the early 18th century, the Düppenweiler copper mine employed up to 300 miners.

the leaning houses of Sulzbach are situated in the Rote-Weiher-Strasse. Underground coal-mining has caused the houses to take on a precarious tilt.

The Maybach miner's settlement was established from 1901 to, respectively, 1905 and 1910.

The Gegenort mine shaft comprises a shaft hall, an old pit frame and an open-air ground, idyllically nestled amidst woodlands.

The quarry has existed since 1979. Mining of andesite via blasting (every 2 weeks). On a surface of 12ha, mining is in progress and reached a depth of 80m.

for almost 150 years, black gold has been unearthed at the Reden coal mine.

the Rischbach gallery is part of the former St. Ingbert mineral coal mine, which closed its gates in 1959.

Next to the former Velsen coal mine, in a variegated sandstone slope, 30 meters high, face lines of a total length of 700 meters were driven onto 3 levels and technically set up in such a way that the underground area and equipment exactly resemble the environment and infrastructure of a coal mine.

the former coal mine started operations in 1963. At the time, it was the most modern coal mine in the world. Shut down in 2005, it is today under preservation order.